• Slideshow2_INÖK.png
  • Slideshow2_Musikedition.png

29 October 2020, 8.30pm

Concert at Porgy & Bess, Riemergasse 11, 1010 Wien



The year is 2020 and many things are no longer as they once were. Even the "New Music Days" and the MAX BRAND Ensemble under the direction of Richard Graf cannot escape this fact. Corona, fake news and conspiracy theories shake hands - despite or because of - social distancing (unfortunately). Problems and challenges of "social" media and globalisation are presented to us daily. What role art in general and music in particular "plays" in this context is still a frequently discussed area and many questions about it are still open.

The slogan "Ohne Geld ka Musi" should now read: "Ohne Musi ka Geld", because many musicians and ensembles are facing great financial problems as concerts have been cancelled or can only take place with restrictions.

For this reason, the MAX BRAND Ensemble invites you to a concert with interesting works/premieres by Julia Purgina, Simon Frick, Ursula Erhart-Schwertmann, HK Gruber and Hannes Raffaseder at Porgy & Bess. In a subsequent podium discussion with the composers and performers, in which the audience can also participate, their experiences and points of view will be discussed.



Ursula ERHART-SCHWERTMANN: ?2020? - UA for ensemble and live-elektronics

Hannes RAFFASEDER: Techno Waltz for ensemble

Julia PURGINA: 5pm Istanbul, free improvisation for 6 players, tape and live electronics

HK GRUBER: MOB-Stücke for Kammerensemble

Simon FRICK: Unreality smog for E-Violine and ensemble

Podium discussion


MAX BRAND Ensemble

Annegret BAUERLE: flute
Eberhard REITER: clarinet, saxophon
Joanna LEWIS: violin
Simon FRICK: violin, e-violin
Arne KIRCHER: violoncello
Martin HEINZLE: doublebass
Andreas FELBER: percussion
Andrés AÑAZCO: piano
Johannes KRETZ: live-elektronics

Richard GRAF: Conductor


Concept and overall management: Mag. Ursula ERHART-SCHWERTMANN

Artistic direction MAX BRAND Ensemble: Mag. Richard GRAF


An event organised by INÖK - Interessengemeinschaft Niederösterreichische KomponistInnen in cooperation with Porgy & Bess.

With the kind support of the Cultural Department of the Province of Lower Austria and the Federal Ministry of Art, Culture, Public Service and Sport.


NÖ Musikedition – Notenkataloge

We use cookies

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.